Tuesday, March 22, 2011

Little Mack Simmons - Come Back To Me Baby - 1994.

Little Mack Simmons (January 25, 1933 — October 24, 2000) was an African American, Chicago blues harmonica player, singer and songwriter. Malcolm Simmons was born in Twist, Arkansas. In his youth he befriended James Cotton, and they grew up learning to play the harmonica. Simmons relocated to St. Louis, Missouri, at the age of 18 and worked on the railroad. At this time Simmons made his stage debut with Robert Nighthawk.

In 1954 he moved again to Chicago, put together his own backing band, and had a five year residency at Cadillac Baby's. He commenced recording in 1959, issuing records on a number of labels including Chess.

In the late 1950s and early 1960s Simmons recorded several more obscure singles, often simply billed as Little Mack (or Mac). Simmons went on to provide the opportunity for others talents to be seen. He owned and managed Chicago's Zodiac Lounge from the mid to late 1960s. In addition, he owned a recording studio and recorded on his own labels, PM Records and Simmons Records. Simmons left the music industry at that time for the ministry, and was rarely heard in 30 years, notwithstanding an album he recorded in 1975 in Paris, France.

His return to blues music arrived with High & Lonesome (1995), which was an early success for St. George Records, an independent record label. Simmons' energetic style, accompanied by Studebaker John, belied his years. Come Back to Me Baby (1996), with featured sidemen John Primer, Willie Kent and Jake Dawson (guitarist) was also well received.

Simmons died in October 2000, of colon cancer, in his adopted hometown of Chicago, at the age of 67.

01 - There's A Kissin' Goin On (Georgia Hinton Simmons, vocals)
02 - Key To The Highway
03 - Tell Me Baby
04 - I Got To Find My Baby
05 - Don't Start Me To Talkin'
06 - You Mistreated Me Baby
07 - Baby, You Got What It Takes (Georgia Hinton Simmons, vocals)
08 - Times Are Gettin' Tougher
09 - Come Back To Me Baby
10 - My Mamma Told Me
11 - I'm Hooked On Your Love
12 - I Got What It Takes
13 - I Wonder Why (Georgia Hinton Simmons, vocals)

Password and Link:
FLAC - 394 Mb

No comments:

Post a Comment