Tuesday, March 22, 2011

Billy Branch And Hubert Sumlin - 1998.

This disc is a fine portrait of Chicago blues -- past and present. Award-winning harpist Billy Branch and legendary giant of the famed Howlin' Wolf Band, Hubert Sumlin, here join hands with some of the finest contemporary musicians in the Windy City -- among them: Willie Kent, John Primer, Johnny B. Moore, and Carl Weathersby. Sumlin offers two superb band tracks as well as five acoustic duets with guitarist John Primer. In addition, there are four Billy Branch numbers that recast the work of Jimmy Rogers, Jimmy Reed, and Little Walter without ever becoming slavish. The dual-guitar work of Johnny B. Moore and John Primer is exceptional.

01. Hubert Sumlin - You Can't Change Me (6:51)
02. Hubert Sumlin - I Did What I Could (5:09)
03. Billy Branch - Baby What You Want Me To Do (5:09)
04. Billy Branch - That's All Right (5:58)
05. Billy Branch - Just Your Fool (4:35)
06. Billy Branch - Everything Gonna Be All Right (5:56)
07. Billy Branch - Take You Down Town (4:42)
08. Hubert Sumlin & John Primer - First Song I Ever Did (4:23)
09. Hubert Sumlin & John Primer - Real Far Away (4:15)
10. Hubert Sumlin & John Primer - No Place To Go (4:21)
11. Hubert Sumlin & John Primer - I've Been Gone (4:24)

Password and Link:
FLAC - 345 Mb

No comments:

Post a Comment