Tuesday, March 22, 2011

Charles Brown - Driftin' Blues, The Best Of Charles Brown 1945 - 1956.

Originally put out by EMI in 1991, this roundup of Charles Brown's 1945-1956 Aladdin sides is essential listening for all R&B fans, and that goes for jazz and pop lovers as well. Sticking mostly to an exquisite after-hours mode, Brown delivers one smooth blues gem after another until this 20-track disc comes to a close. Backed for the most part by guitarist Johnny Moore and his Three Blazers, Brown effortlessly lays down such standouts as the title track, "Black Night," and "Get Yourself Another Fool." Yes, the mood here is evocative of Nat Cole's classic trio sides, but Brown and Moore -- unlike Cole, infuse their lush surroundings with a healthy dose of sophisticated West Coast blues. Capped off with the original version of Brown's classic Yuletide cut "Merry Christmas Baby," Driftin' Blues is the perfect way to get cozy with this venerable blues performer. Stephen Cook

01. Driftin' Blues 3:15
02. Homesick Blues 3:11
03. Get Yourself Another Fool 3:03
04. In the Evening When the Sun Goes Down 2:56
05. A Long Time 3:35
06. It's Nothing 2:51
07. Trouble Blues 2:23
08. My Baby's Gone 3:08
09. Black Night 2:56
10. I'll Always Be in Love With You 3:02
11. Seven Long Days 3:10
12. Hard Times 2:46
13. Evening Shadows 2:58
14. I Lost Everything 2:56
15. Lonesome Feeling 2:43
16. Cryin' Mercy 1:58
17. I've Been Savin' My Love for You 2:47
18. Fool's Paradise 2:22
19. Please Don't Drive Me Away 2:19
20. Merry Christmas, Baby 2:53

Password and Link:
mp3 320 kbps - 105 Mb

No comments:

Post a Comment